< Back

Fung Scholars Online Saring – A naive approach to mixing

Date: 16/01/2021
Time: 9:00 pm - 9:30 pm

About the Event

How do mathematicians understand the process of stirring a cup of coffee? How does this relate to the life of bacteria? In this sharing session, Xiaoqian will introduce a quantitative way to define mixing and its application to biology.

 

Date: 16 Jan 2021 (Sat)
Time: 8:00 EST | 13:00 GMT | 21:00 HKT,CST,SGT | 22:00 JST
Duration: 30 mins

 

About Dr. Xiaoqian Xu
Xiaoqian Xu (FS2009/10, Zhejiang University) is an assistant professor of mathematics at Duke Kunshan University. Dr. Xu has a Ph.D. in mathematics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Before joining DKU, he did postdoc research at Carnegie Mellon University and the Institute for Computational and Experimental Research in Mathematics, Brown University.

 

Please RSVP by 13 Jan 2021 (Wed). Any questions, please contact Erin at erinlili@fungfoundation.org

*This event is open to Fung Scholars and Fellows only.

 

Registration closed